when is boost a restriction?

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by jdgmntl1, Dec 6, 2003.

1. jdgmntl1

jdgmntl1 New Member

Me again guys!
    When does boost become a measure of restriction?
    I know it's not an alcohol car but we traded heads on a buddy's mustang for him and found that even though horse power on the dyno went up measured boost had dropped by 2psi. Also noticed that two alcohol cars with nearly the same combo for power(blower same bottom end the same but one with ven heads that were 2.500 and one with 2.600's the 2.600's ran away at the top end (newer bigger better) the boost gauge was noticeably lower an was verified when I asked if their racepak was the same and and it was. If the heads are slowing the velocity of the air why do so many try and spin the blower harder to bring up boost when in reality it may just be eating up horsepower to make a bigger number. I'm new to this so please don't bite my head off, just trying to learn to go fast. JDD

2. andy wilfong

andy wilfong Active Member

I explain this very same things to alot of customers, first of all when we measure boost, we are only measuring what is in the manifold not in the cylinders, which would be the ultimate thing, for example, if you ran a motor on the dyno with onported heads and say it had 25# of boost, than took the heads and ported them, the motor would flow better, so your boost would drop but the power would go up. hope this helps!

3. Bill Naves

Bill Naves Member

to give you another angle. if you break a rocker and can't fill a cylinder the boost goes WAY up.

4. Will Hanna

Will Hanna We put the 'inside' in Top Alcohol
    Staff Member

like andy said, boost is not eating up the power. with a roots, you will reach an inefficiency point where it is taking more hp to turn the blower than the extra overdrive is generating 'extra' boost. the old 'point of deminishing returns' concept.