shake vs. quiver

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by caseyspradlin, Feb 11, 2010.

1. caseyspradlin

caseyspradlin Member

need some education on when car is shaking and when it is quivering. I have shook so hard I could not see before and I have also experienced tire shake followed by washout of grove. Now I know these are obvious tire shake, but sometimes I feel a slight shake right out of gate but 60's are either the same or better than others. I quess this is quivering the tires. Are there way's to prevent this, like raising tire pressure? Does quiver cause loose of traction?

2. jim phillips

jim phillips ta/fc

you have to get it up on the tires quicker without spinning them several things could fix the problem a 1/4 pound more of air i wouldnt go crazy with air pressure, leaving a little higher on the rpms , maybe a degree of timing im not a pro but i have ran on every kind of track out there in a funny car are a blown altered and i have a clutch car if its happening at the hit its under powered at the hit the key is get it up on the tires as quick as you can but its hard to give advise with out knowing what kind of car and setup you have

good luck

3. rattler

rattler AA/Fuel Altered

Jim is right, if the car is quivering at the hit, It is struggling to get up on the tire.
    We started running the Micky Thompson tire 2 years ago and discovered no more quivering or tire shake, even when we were down on power. When we ordered our secon set of tires, I realized that I was running a stiff sidewall tire ( dragster style ). I have always run the softest sidewall all my life as I run a 5 second AA/Fuel Altered on not NHRA prepared tracks most of the time.I have run the Goodyears and Hoosiers prior.
    Contact: Carl Robinson at M/T 800-222-9092 He is full of information and extremely helpful.
    Ricky Ruiz

Last edited: Feb 11, 2010
  4. caseyspradlin

caseyspradlin Member

additional info.