restripping blower

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by blown375, Sep 11, 2005.

1. blown375

blown375 New Member

Hi guys, I'm fairly new with the supercharged sport . I run a blown 375" sbc fairly simple set up with a 6-71 blower shop blower and was wondering what is involved in restripping the blower ?
    Can I do this myself?
    What's needed to do this and how often?

thanks Bob Frigon

2. TAF 316

TAF 316 Member

Go right to the source call Ronnie or Eric @the Blower Shop. 661 299 5483

3. CannoyRacing

CannoyRacing New Member

We run a TAFC and have been interested in restripping our own blowers and i was wondering what all was involved in this processa nd how difficult it is. Thanks!

4. dlewis

dlewis New Member

the process isnt that hard as far as the teflon stripping goes, just make sure that you put the rotors back in time when you re-assemble it. as far as pulling the teflon, most all of the newer rotors have what i call pinch screws that secures the teflon on the ends,just remove the screws, get a pair of vise grips (thats what i use) and attach them to one end of the stripping and pull it through in one continious motion. i leave about 1/4" on each end to allow for draw up then trim them up when finished. if you have an older set of rotors that you have to brad to secure the teflon the process is the same except you have to de-burr where its been braded b4 restripping then brad the rotors again once your finished.the first time i restripped ours i was scared to death i wasn't doing it right but after a couple of times its a piece of cake now. when you restrip the nylatron you have to have it machined down to fit and when that has to be done we sent it off to let the professionals handle that. hope this helps.
    david

5. Woodchip

Woodchip Top Alcohol Dragster

Wow brings back memories. Davids right its not difficult at all.
    from what I recall;