Line lock needed w/ Lenco drive?

Discussion in 'Manton Push Rods Top Alcohol Tech Questions' started by Soldierboy0098, Oct 10, 2017.

  1. Soldierboy0098

    Soldierboy0098 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi Does anyone know if I need a line lock for my Lenco drive to prevent creep on the trans brake? Pro mod, roots blown hemi application. Thanks, Trev
     
    #1
  2. quickcut

    quickcut New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    No,Its controlled by your convertor & rpm or two step
     
    #2
  3. sammy christian

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes, car will roll just like a Bruno/lenco, output shaft isn't locked like a glide brake.
    It's not creep, it's the car rolling due to nothing being held except for the input shaft in the convertor drive. Vibration, inertia, a lumpy/non-level starting line or whatever you want to blame it on can make the car roll slightly. You can easily push the car by hand when it's on the transbrake with Bruno or lencodrive.
     
    #3
  4. jody stroud

    jody stroud ZOMBIE Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    10
    No line lock needed.... just rest left foot on the broke pedal when the car leaves it will toss your foot off the pedal , or you can snatch it off yourself. My dragster would roll forward from the exhaust pressure blowing backwards. I just learned to “swap feet” at the hit. Problem solved .
     
    #4
  5. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,084
    Likes Received:
    64
    It depends on if you have a foot brake or a hand brake. As Jody said if you have a foot brake then you can hold it from rolling. If you only have a hand brake then you don’t have enough hands so I line lock is needed.
     
    #5
  6. Soldierboy0098

    Soldierboy0098 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    9
    So until my 3rd arm finally develops (Thanks APG Proving grounds) I just need to keep my fat foot on the pedal until I let go of the magic button. Sweet one less thing I need to buy and wire. Thanks everyone -Trev
     
    #6
  7. 1320metalman

    1320metalman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    All converter drive manufacturer's WILL tell u there
    "Drive" is
    NOT DESIGNED TO HOLD UR CAR IN THE BEAMS .
    Will it?
    Yep,
    Will it not?
    Yep,
    Unless,
    If ur car takes a dually to pull it cuz ur rolling resistance is terrible, when measuring it,
    by using a scale like a lenco shift tower,
    & it is so hard to pull the car that u bottom ur scale,
    U prolly dont need a line loc,

    But on fast cars w low rolling resistance,
    U either have a line loc, or will intermittently stage diff depths,
    or redlite on rare occasions w/Any brand "Converter drive"
    I.E. Lencodrive, Quick Drive, Bruno,
    NOT A POWERGLIDE OR ROSSLER DEAL
    there not converter drives,

    But if using those, increase your electrical circuit resistance in the transbrake 12v wire comm line, or your brake will be slower re-acting,
    Thats off topic but many dont know that tid bit ,
     
    #7
  8. Will Hanna

    Will Hanna We put the 'inside' in Top Alcohol
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    56
    I would put one on, especially if you haven't wired it yet. The less things you have to worry about trying to cut a light the better. Especially given the fact you've never driven pro mod before.
     
    #8
  9. blownapex

    blownapex Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    3
    both my pro mod cars i have put a line lock on rear brakes and wired into transbrake
    lencodrive
    ive had a lot of consistant .920 60 ft
     
    #9
  10. Soldierboy0098

    Soldierboy0098 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi Will, It's already wired but may not be too big of deal to run a line lock. I have my switched trigger wire (Off trans brake) to all of my timers and could splice into that or just put it off the button if it won't prevent the car from going into gear, sounds like the rear brakes are best? Not sure how this will effect fuses based on where I splice it into. I have 4 fuses for my Racepak V-300 SD, Power grid, Trans Brake, Leahy shifter, and 8 Channel, I think the grid and 8 channel are together if I recall. I have no idea what fuse sizes to put in since a lot of these manufacturers will not tell you. Leahy was helpful but I am not sure where my notes ended up Thanks to Hurricane Irma.

    Thanks guys,
    Trev
     
    #10
  11. jay70cuda

    jay70cuda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    13
    Wow. People use fuses in there car still? Man I don’t think I have one fuse , just lots of spare electronics lol
     
    #11
  12. lucky devil

    lucky devil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    I run a Bruno and dont find the need for a line lock , the TB holds it just fine
     
    #12
  13. Will Hanna

    Will Hanna We put the 'inside' in Top Alcohol
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    56
    I would recommend having it wired such a way that it is not on until you are moving forward to pre stage. Makes changing gears easier.
     
    #13

Share This Page