HELP PLEASE ... Grid Ignition issue

Discussion in 'Manton Push Rods Top Alcohol Tech Questions' started by JetNLed, Jul 4, 2017.

  1. JetNLed

    JetNLed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    long story short

    Blown Alky BBC 20lbs 1471

    Took motor to dyno ... 1600 hp

    My setup, 7720 and 7730, crank trigger and crab cap hvc2 coil.

    On the dyno we used a msd 8 or 10 box and a ss coil.

    After dyno removed intake to fix oil leak, put the motor in the boat, did not put a laptop on it yet. The motor fired up and was 10 degrees off (retarded) and no throttle response, but idled decent.

    Since it getting to be nuttier than squire shit and I am too.

    I got in the program and was trying to learn it, tried to move crank trigger pick up a hair to allow for 10 degree variance. now #1 cylinder only fires on say every forth rotation. I am running zoomies, I have timing light in one hand and other hand over #1 exhaust. When timing light flashed I feel the cylinder hit. On other compression strokes just hot air getting pushed out. #7 and a few cylinders on the other side are acting the same way. Called MSD, bought a new MSD crank trigger pick up (had a FIE on it on the dyno with different box).

    Tried ignition type on "network" and "6/7/promag"
    Tried changing crank signal.
    Tried firing sequence .. no change
    checked phasing, best I could with setback blower, even moved cap while running with no change.
    Ran extra grounds from battery to block, one head to another head,

    Just turned on data logger on the grid and cranked the motor over, it shows signal in and out consistently for the ignition. Testing the coil now. ( positive to negative posts .3ohms)

    why cant I get cylinders to fire!! (when they need too??)

    Trying to race Saturday for the first time this year.

    Please post or call or text 918-521-8421, if i dont answer I will call right back.
     
    #1
  2. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,060
    Likes Received:
    60
    Let's just check some things. First the Grid should only change the timing 3-4 degrees from a MSD 8. They insert that delay to allow processing time at high rpm but if you adjust the timing with the Grid on the car then it is transpearent to you. You need to make sure you are setting the timing at Before Top Dead Center and not accidentally After Top Dead Center. Seen that done often. Make sure the Grid is set up for 8 cylinders. With it on the Grid run it directly from the distributor and set the timing. Now switch it to the crank trigger and set the timing without moving the distributor. Once that's done the rotor is in phase automatically on the crank trigger. If that rotor was way out of phrase then no telling what the spark is doing inside that cap. Do all that and get back to me
     
    #2
  3. JetNLed

    JetNLed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    First, much appreciate the help.
    Grid is set up for 8 cylinders, so it says in the settings tab and general tab. Pretty sure i did the After TDC and my guys didnt believe me it was even running lol.
    I am confused on "With it on the Grid run it directly from the distributor and set the timing. Now switch it to the crank trigger and set the timing without moving the distributor. "

    I am guessing find 30* advance and remove crab cap and make sure rotor is on cylinder one? and phasing it correct?

    I have also ran a direct ground from the crank trigger to the battery and no change.
     
    #3
  4. LSR FC

    LSR FC New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also check the firing order in the grid and make sure it matches your cam. (std or 4/7 swap)
     
    #4
  5. JetNLed

    JetNLed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have a 4-7 swap. I have the crab cap compensated for it. Does the box even need to know? Would this effect cylinders firing randomly? I do have a 7AL2 box i am thinking about wiring in. I have the crab cap off now inspecting. My phasing may have been off a little but i dont think it was crazy off. while the motor was running i move the crab cap both directions no change?? Still at wits end on this deal. I am checking plug wires right now also.
     
    #5
  6. Critical Mass

    Critical Mass Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi brother boat racer,

    You need to read the Grid instruction manual thoroughly and check your wiring connections carefully.
    Before connecting the crank trigger make sure the motor responds to the crab cap, if it doesn't you are on the trigger. Also, once you have your timing were you want it at the cap don't touch it until you phase in the trigger.
    Remember when you are phasing in the trigger you don't use the same timing marks on the degree wheel as you did for the crab cap. The TDC for the trigger will be about 2-4 deg from the magnet. Remember the signals from magnets are now used by the Grid instead of your distributor.
    You need to take your time and think what you are doing to set up a Grid- it's not simple the first time.

    Hope this helps, Joe
     
    #6
  7. JetNLed

    JetNLed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0

    Are you saying the motor will run with crank trigger unplugged?
     
    #7
  8. Bjs344

    Bjs344 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    5
    My crab cap distributor does not have any kind of trigger in it. These guys are assuming you're does.

    Are you aware of the safety run time "feature?"

    Make sure this is set to max rpm and max time allowable.

    Also check for all of the potential rpm limits and set them to 11000 just as a test.
     
    #8
  9. JetNLed

    JetNLed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok DUMBSHIT situation, I hope, tried another coil, looked great, tried HVC2 coil with old plug wire, still nice, so.......i hope I had a bad coil wire. had to call my local beer buddy and he saved me...again i hope. pulled the blower to fix a fuel leak...fingers crossed.
     
    #9

Share This Page