Fuel System Tuning Q's

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by blower_newbie, Jul 15, 2008.

1. blower_newbie

blower_newbie New Member

Hi guys,
    I'm new to the blower / mechanical injection deal and have a few questions.
    I guess my biggest question is how is the best way to know what jet I need to run for varying atmospheric conditions. I have heard of some computer software to do this and would like to hear more about exactly how each works...what I will have to input, pro's & con's of each, etc. I also expect that there are a lot of guys who are doing it without "software"....I'm told by using corrected altitude and a "chart"....if this makes sense to anyone, where do I get one of these "charts"?
    I'm sure I will be adding questions to this thread as it goes along, but just wanted to get it started.
    Thanks for all your help, I love this site!
    :)

Last edited: Jul 15, 2008
  2. SoDak

SoDak Active Member

It all boils down to how much oxygen is getting into the cylinders.
    More Atmospheric pressure puts more oxygen in.
    More humidity in the air puts less oxygen in.
    The higher the air temperature the less dense the air so the less oxygen gets in.
    It used to be real common to take all these readings then look at a chart and finally it combined all the data. From that you could determine pill size changes. Of course with electronics its now easier and faster.
    Perform Aire is an easy to use portable weather station that will spit out a pill size.
    I personally use Density Altitude and every 500 ft change in altitude (for my setup)constitutes a pill change.:)

3. aj481x

aj481x Member

We use the Davenport software. It takes a little time to get used to, but is a real help. I would buy the software, then take my whole system to be flowed. Enter this data as your starting point.

4. secondwindracing

secondwindracing top alcohol

5. RACEFACE

RACEFACE Member

web site

does davenport have a web site

6. aj481x