Crank Trigger Crossover Switch Failures

Discussion in 'Manton Push Rods Top Alcohol Tech Questions' started by Mike Canter, Feb 2, 2016.

  1. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,184
    Likes Received:
    87
    On the Vette the answer is no. We have a Roots blower on it and have increased the car's weight.
     
    #41
  2. krastel

    krastel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it possible to digitally/ transistor switch it and using the starter button or starter solenoid as an signal to the digital switch.
     
    #42
  3. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,184
    Likes Received:
    87
    I think that is how I want to do it.
     
    #43
  4. aj481x

    aj481x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    8
    Can it possibly be this hard to get a car started? :p
     
    #44
  5. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,184
    Likes Received:
    87
    Starting the car is NOT the problem finding a crossover switch that doesn't fail is the problem.
     
    #45
  6. Critical Mass

    Critical Mass Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    3
    The way I understand the problem is if you start a car on the crossover switch that developed bad contacts due to vibration, the bad contacts can produce misfires going down the track. I assume you will have to test all the components in the entire ignition system before you can say that it's the crossover switch?
     
    #46
  7. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,184
    Likes Received:
    87
    No, you can use the data acquisition of the Grid to see the dropped pulses from the crank trigger due to the bad switch. In the Grid you record the "Ignition In" which is either the crank trigger or mag triggers depending on the position of the crossover switch and "Ignition Out" which is the output of the Grid. It is a very good system.
     
    #47
    Will Hanna likes this.
  8. Critical Mass

    Critical Mass Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mike, the Grid is looking better and better to me all the time.

    Have you tried to switch the mag over to the crank trigger while the motor is running with a cheap-o DPDT switch?
     
    #48
  9. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,184
    Likes Received:
    87
    Not sure I understand your question. No I have not made a cheap setup with another switch yet. Yes, with the current switch we switch it with the engine running.

    Yes the Grid is great. Never have had a problem with them on any of the cars.
     
    #49
  10. ta455

    ta455 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    2
    could a 2 step box be used as a switch?
     
    #50

Share This Page