B&J autoshift

Discussion in 'InsideTopAlcohol.com Tech Questions' started by Went Racing, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. Went Racing

    Went Racing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking to set up a autoshift system on our outlaw car. We have a 3 speed B&J transmission, i have been looking online and can only seem to find systems for the Lenco transmission and being the PSI difference between the 2 cant seem to find one that will handle the shift pressure of the B&J.

    Whats out there?
     
    #1
  2. Eric Lourie

    Eric Lourie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use a small regulator to reduce the pressure for your low pressure needs, to act as a relay.
    That’s what I had to do with my car. It worked great.
    Eric
     
    #2
  3. rb0804

    rb0804 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    26
    Dave Leahy makes an auto shift solenoid system that works with the B&J. You will have to figure out how to make it all work with whatever you will be triggering it from. I have always used them with his command module so it’s plug and play.
     
    #3
  4. greenracing

    greenracing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm also in the process of figuring this out. I'm figuring on using an MSD shift controller to control the solenoids, but I haven't gotten around to sourcing the solenoids yet. You're right - most of the shift solenoids out there will not handle the higher pressure required by the B&J.
     
    #4
  5. Went Racing

    Went Racing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done some research and I'm going to use the Electrimotion auto shift solenoids and trigger them with the ACD shift box.
     
    #5
  6. greenracing

    greenracing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    That should work - I was either going to use ACD or MSD and happened across an MSD first so that's what's on my shelf. The Electrimotion one looks a bit complicated with what looks like 2 solenoids on each valve, hopefully the wiring isn't too complicated when you're not running their timer box.
     
    #6
  7. jay70cuda

    jay70cuda Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    18
    It’s very easy for Lahee one. The other side of the solenoids is for the dump psi off it side. We just wired ours into the FuelTech I have on my car. Simple , lite and has parts to rebuild if a failure occurs.
     
    #7
  8. rb0804

    rb0804 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    26
    I have had EMI issues with the MSD shift box in the past. The box I was running they don’t make anymore, so maybe they fixed the issue. I ended up mounting the box up over the wheel tub and changing plug wires. The racepack analog channels used to randomly act funny as well, and that went away with the new wires. The funny thing is the shift box was always mounted next to the msd ignition box. When we upgraded to the msd 8 is when the problems started.
     
    #8
  9. greenracing

    greenracing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the tips guys.
     
    #9
  10. Will Hanna

    Will Hanna We put the 'inside' in Top Alcohol
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,528
    Likes Received:
    84
    Call Brad Schmidt at WYO Motorsports (Tutterow). They sell a kit that most of the Pro Mods use now for both Lenco and B&J.

    It is basically an "air relay" system. The solenoid that hooks to the shift line has a low pressure and high pressure input. You plumb your 400 psi directly to it. The low pressure is a small signal line that can go up to 115 psi I believe. Since the signal is low pressure, they can use a very low amperage electric over air solenoid to send a signal which activates a plunger and delivers the high pressure air to the trans. With a couple of pipe adaptors, we have mounted them direct to the transmission like a shift pod. You can mount them remotely as well.

    (980) 429-0523
     
    #10
  11. Soldierboy0098

    Soldierboy0098 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    11
    I used the Leahy auto shifter which he will tell you isn't an auto shifter. It looks like an H. You can control it with anything that sends a ground or pos at a time or rpm. I use my power grid for 1-2 and 2-3. 1-2 is controlled by RPM with a timed safety to prevent shifting if you blow the tires off and 2-3 is done using the shift light signal with 1-2 shift light turned off in the option settings.

    That deal from Brad at WYO sounds like a neat deal as well.

    Hope that helps,
    Trev
     
    #11
  12. greenracing

    greenracing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trevor does the Leahy have internal latching or did you have to add a latch solenoid since the signals from the Grid are momentary?
     
    #12
  13. rb0804

    rb0804 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you have the 3 stage timer you can define how long the pulse is for. I can tell you that the command module opens the solenoid for a pre defined set of time and then closes again. Then you have to energize the other solenoid to dump the air.
     
    #13
  14. greenracing

    greenracing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    ah - I forgot there's 2 solenoids, so it's 'latching' by design because the 'in' solenoid only needs to be on long enough to fill the cylinder.
     
    #14

Share This Page