small stand vs big stand?

Discussion in 'Pit Buzz' started by Will Hanna, Sep 29, 2003.

1. Will Hanna

Will Hanna We put the 'inside' in Top Alcohol
    Staff Member

here's one to throw out there, what is yalls take on which is better, small stand or big stand clutch?

2 of the 3 blown cars that have run .20's (i was corrected) run small stands (thacker, santos/wells), and shields ran big stands.

i know wells ran big stands stuff before grimes came on board.

[ September 29, 2003, 04:10 PM: Message edited by: Will Hanna ]

2. Bob Meyer

Bob Meyer Comp Eliminator

Will; first and formost, remember, "I'm just a welder", but having gone back to the begining (001/Lenco, 002/McDowell, 003/Murray) and still current (although not much in America anymore)her's my take.
    1. big stand stays flatter and more stable.
    2. small stand has less rotating weight.
    3. I like both.
    4. Not to oversimplify, but I feel either can work as well. It's just mathematics when you switch from one to the other.
    5. The clutch or the chassis always gets blamed when the tune up is dicked up !
    6. always remember that all clutches are produced as the opposite gender of the one trying to figure them out. (How's that for a non-sexist remark).

Bob

3. Wendland

Wendland Guest

Will,
    Remember that the two clutchs have different levers. To me, the small stand clutch, which takes more weight, is easier to tune. The big stand clutch, which takes the aluminum weight, to me had the lever too agressive. Always wanted to shake around 8350 or so. The little stand clutch worked well around 100 to 145 grams and seam to have a larger window. I think Les's clutch is the way to go. You won't need all the RPM for lock up. He says it is worth .05 to .08. Works well on Cy's car.....

4. Aussie Alky

Aussie Alky New Member