Racepak question

Discussion in 'Manton Push Rods Top Alcohol Tech Questions' started by nikkammerer, May 23, 2017.

  1. nikkammerer

    nikkammerer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was wondering if anyone knows racers using a Pro II model racepak in Top Dragster class?

    According to the document link below, it only explicitly states that TF, FC, TAD, and TAFC are designated classes unless I am misreading the data table. The document's Data Recorders section was last updated May 2014. The PDF itself shows a revision date of last week so it appears to be a current spec sheet.
    http://promod.nhra.com/userfiles/file/NHRAAcceptedProducts.pdf

    If it is truly not allowed in TD, does anyone know why? Since you are only logging data and the category itself permits such action, it seems irrelevant. Definitely curious as to the actual answer.
     
    #1
  2. aj481x

    aj481x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    8
    Probably a good question for NHRA tech.
     
    #2
  3. nikkammerer

    nikkammerer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I called NHRA Tech Services and explained my situation. Tech Rep is going to consult with his supervisor, but said likely that Pro II should be eligible for TD and TS.

    He said I should know an answer by next week at the very latest. I will share the final opinion once I receive it.
     
    #3
  4. TAF 316

    TAF 316 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    generally it is just more computer than is needed
     
    #4
  5. nikkammerer

    nikkammerer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    But if buying a car that already has it, don't want to have to spend extra money on a "downgrade".
     
    #5
    Last edited: May 25, 2017
  6. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,060
    Likes Received:
    60
    Pro II's do not have a VNet so the don't pickup interference from the Promag and suddenly stop recording like the V300 and V500 can. This can happen a lot in a no body car like a dragster. The metal firewall in a Promod helps shield the ignition from a V series. Racepak highly recommends using the Pro II in dragsters. It is a good choice system for your car.
     
    #6
  7. nikkammerer

    nikkammerer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just got a response from NHRA Tech Department and they approved my request to permit the Pro II Racepak in Top Dragster and Top Sportsman categories.

    The accepted products list is also updated on the NHRA website.

    This way if someone buys a former TAD or ProMod car to convert classes and it already has the higher-end data recorder, then they can use it without extra expense to buy a lower-level model.
     
    #7
    slowpoke96z28 and T/D racer like this.

Share This Page