QUESTION FOR ELECTRICAL GUYS

Discussion in 'Manton Push Rods Top Alcohol Tech Questions' started by NENE, Jan 30, 2017.

  1. NENE

    NENE Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have some trouble installing a MSD activate switch on a MSD Pro mag 8168 and a V300 SD computer (all on the same RPM wire)
    I take the rpm signal from the 8168 (on the side), the RPM activate switch works but the V300 loose the signal as soon as I connect the RPM switch. If I disconnect the RPM switch the V300 see the RPM signal.

    Do you know if a diode or any kind of capacitor could correct this issue ?

    thanks

    Eric
     
    #1
  2. GTPerf

    GTPerf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    never ran one but have been told a 8132 tach converter will fix the weak signal from the 8168 what did MSD say ?
     
    #2
  3. NENE

    NENE Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've called the MSD tech hot line and they found the answer (very kind guy !)
    Here it is :

    [​IMG]

    It use the not used side of the 8168 box to amplify the square tach signal.
    I tried it and it works for me.
    Eric
     
    #3
    Will Hanna likes this.
  4. Will Hanna

    Will Hanna We put the 'inside' in Top Alcohol
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,278
    Likes Received:
    37
    Putting a Power Grid would be a better fix :)

    Glad they hooked you up with this. We did this when we still had the six shooter.
     
    #4
  5. td3829mk

    td3829mk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    2
    So you're using both tach outputs on the 8168? Guessing you ran them both into one wire, then into the violet? What size wire did you use?

    Having issues with rpm activated switch and can't seem to get a clarification on this from those that have been down this road.

    Thanks.
     
    #5

Share This Page