power grid

Discussion in 'Manton Push Rods Top Alcohol Tech Questions' started by pat Iley, Aug 12, 2018.

  1. pat Iley

    pat Iley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    just getting ready to wire power grid and new pro mag 20. is it possible to use FIE crossover switch on mag and still run thru power grid or should i just use crank trigger to power points box as shown in diagram i am assuming that the wiring for promag 20 to power grid is going to be the same as the 44 mag.
     
    #1
  2. drew556

    drew556 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    We run on crank trigger no fie crossover switch we do run a 44 amp mag not sure it makes a difference
     
    #2
  3. Rod Scanlon

    Rod Scanlon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a crossover switch with a pro mag 20 on my altered. Just wire the crank trigger to the grid , the white wire from the grid to one of the crossover inputs, then the other input to the mag pick up. Then wire in the orange, red, and yellow wires as the diagram shows.
     
    #3
  4. HootersFunnyCar

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes you can run both through grid.
     
    #4
  5. blowntrifive

    blowntrifive Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have same set up and run it thru the grid as well.
     
    #5
  6. Will Hanna

    Will Hanna We put the 'inside' in Top Alcohol
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,410
    Likes Received:
    66
    As stated, wire the trigger as the instructions say.

    If you are not using a blower starter or a booster battery pack, I would recommend it on a flywheel starter application. Hard to start on the grid without enough cranking speed. Fires pretty easy straight up on mag, then switch over.

    Also don't rigid mount the switch. Make sure it doesn't get a lot of vibration.
     
    #6
    Insane_Crew likes this.
  7. GottaGoFaster

    GottaGoFaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same setup that Will mentioned: flywheel mounted starter with mag44 and k11 HH blower. Most of the time my single 16v battery didn't spin mag fast enough to start on Grid. Now I'm using remote battery pack, with 24v hitting the starter. Still not enough cranking speed to dependability fire thru the grid. Having ability to switch to Mag to fire on start is a must.

    Question: I have my FIE crossover switch tie-strapped to the side of the mag body. Would that be considered a "high vibration" area? I could hang it nearby, just supported by a couple loose tie straps and the short wiring plugs.
     
    #7
  8. Mike Canter

    Mike Canter Top Dragster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,150
    Likes Received:
    73
    Yes, if it is tied tight to the mag then it issubject to high frequency vibrations. Zip tie it to theblower bag straps in the front of the blower
     
    #8
  9. GottaGoFaster

    GottaGoFaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great solution, will do. Thx guys.
     
    #9

Share This Page