New to the game

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by HensonRacing, Jul 21, 2011.

1. HensonRacing

HensonRacing Member

I am new to the top alcohol game, I have a few questions, I built a 540 bbc, 12:1 comp. alum rod, Profiler 24 degree heads solid, 14-71 Littlefield standard helix 44% overdriven, made 32 psi boost, tune up is now real close after two days of dynoing, My question is, this engine seems to like 33* of timing and it seems like a little much compared to all other combinations, is this Ok ?

2. Comax Racing

Comax Racing Member

Timing

I'm a little new to the game myself to make any timing remarks, but I am curious what HP it made as you said it was on a dyno. I have virtually the same engine, would love to know if you don't mind.

Corey

3. rowalton

rowalton New Member

I have 540 bbc bb2x heads 12.1 with 15 lbs boost we run 29 deg tried 34 car slowed down hope that helps

4. Blownalky

Blownalky Top Sportsman

Read the plugs, that will tell you. With an almost identical combination we ran 35 degrees and it was best for that. Had a little less compression (11.32) and std type BBC heads. Ran from 33% over to 53% over on a std helix blower and worked very well. Read Mike Canters post about reading plugs and you will see how to read timing by the ground strap. The plug reading and the performance will tell you.

5. Wildcatracing

Wildcatracing Member

BB Chev timing

we run a 509 with a 50% over 10-71, Dart 360 heads, fairly mild at 11:1 , we have gone from 28 to 31 and it loves it. Unfortunately we busted the belt on our last run so dont know how it would have gone but it felt real strong with no issues other than the belt. Based on this I would suggest that you are in the right ballpark, our plugs were just starting to colour the top thread. Cheers Graham

6. HensonRacing

HensonRacing Member