Head Gasket problem on wedge heads

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by Insanity3, Sep 1, 2007.

1. Insanity3

Insanity3 Blown Alcohol Altered

I would like to ask a question concerning head gasket problems. I run an Indy Wedge set-up (Siamese center exhaust ports) using a KB stage 6 block re-drilled for wedge heads. I use a solid Indy Blown Alcohol head with ½ head bolts torque to 100ft/lbs. I use a .042-inch stainless O-ring in the head (.012-.014 protrusion out of head) with a receiver groove in the sleeve of the block. I use a .042-inch copper head gasket The blower makes 16-18lbs of boost (only 12-over). I have a MSD-12 set at 32-degrees of advance.

The problem is that the head gasket will fail between the center two cylinders (#3 and #5 or #4 and #6). The only solution I have found to eliminate this problem is to richen up the fuel mixture from 5.0:1 air to fuel ratio to 4.14:1 air to fuel ratio. This will burn just the electrode on the plugs instead of the entire flat. The problem is it also slows the car down from 191MPH to 184 MPH and makes the car act like it has a governor on it.

Do you feel the problem is mechanical (not enough O-ring protrusion out of head) or a tuning issue (too much spark advance or too lean). I did try to lower the spark advance but my ET suffered dramatically.

I know some small block Chevy racers (same Siamese center exhaust ports) and some wedge nitrous racers plumb water directly to the area in the center exhaust ports to reduce heat. I do not have this option with the solid head.

I would like to try to increase my boost to the 25-28lb range but feel I need to solve this problem first.

Another note: Thanks again to all who commented on my “slipping the tire to avoid tire shake” question. I was able to use some of the suggestions and solved the problem.

2. WADE RACING

WADE RACING New Member

Wedge Gasket Problem