Compression Ratio on Blown Alcohol ???

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by Alcoholic, Feb 6, 2008.

1. Alcoholic

Alcoholic TEW

What would the advantages/ disadvantages be on a 10.5:1 compression motor and taking it to 11:1 or 11.5:1 ??? What can I expect to gain ??? Other than being harder on the bearings, what else would I chance damaging for the benefits ??
    Regards, Alcoholic :confused:

2. Ken Sitko

Ken Sitko Super Comp

I'm just starting out with the screw blower myself, and am going to run 10.8 compression. If you're running 10.5, it may be OK with a screw, but not with a roots blower. If you're running a roots, you should be up at 11.2 compression with a really good blower, or at 11.5 with something that is not so good. Raising compression kind of compensates for lack of boost, if you run too low of compression with no boost it's not going to go very fast.

When you raise compression (beyond reasonable levels), you increase your risk of detonation, which could lead to black deathing the piston skirts and cylinder walls, breaking and flaking of piston rings, cracked crank shafts, pre-mature damage or sudden failure of rods, blackened or damaged rod and main bearings, and on and on. The correct amount of compression is hard to tell, as it depends on how good your ignition system and your blower is; if you run a 44 amp magneto and a newer blower, you probably shouldn't go over 11.4 with a roots; in the past I have run as high as 12.2 with a Mallory 3 mag and an old retrofit blower.

3. ZERO260IN1

ZERO260IN1 Member

Ken

Ive always wondered how people could just say X or Y compression ratio is reccommened. Wouldn’t DA be a variable as well? For example.. in 4000 feet of air, a motor with 12:1 is really only like 11:1.

Ive seen this calculations before.

Corrected Compression Ratio = FCR - [ (altitude÷1000) x 0.2 ]

4. IGO1320

IGO1320 T/D 2268

compression