Blowers and Fuel Pumps on a BBC

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by Paul Vinyard, Aug 19, 2016.

1. Paul Vinyard

Paul Vinyard New Member

Hello all,
    I'm new to this page and it seems like there is a wealth of knowledge and experience. I am wondering if anyone is running a blown alky BBC in the 500 cubic inch area? I am trying to see what the biggest blower I can run is without having to relocate the Mag to the front of the motor. Also what size fuel pumps/ GPM you all are getting away with for that same BBC? Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Paul

Last edited: Aug 19, 2016
  2. TADHemiracer

TADHemiracer Member

Back in the day when I had a BBC, I had a 14 on it with a mag offset drive. As far as a fuel pump, I hear that an Enderle 900 is the right size. I still have the offset drive and like new 44 mag if you are interested in it. I also have some 13.9 pulleys and a new belt.

Paul Vinyard likes this.
  3. Blownalky

Blownalky Top Sportsman

With a mag or distributor, you can get away with an 8-71 depending on where you place the blower on the manifold and which manifold you use. As with the post above, you can offset the mag to fit but that is probably close to the work of moving to the front depending on your setup. You can get away with a 110 pump on the 8-71 and a 990 or equivalent on a 14-71. That is a baseline as it all depends on how hard you want to drive it. Jeff Folwer at Folwer Engines is a good source for a baseline with your setup if you are just starting out.

TADHemiracer and Paul Vinyard like this.
  4. andy wilfong

andy wilfong Active Member

The biggest you can go without an offset is s 10-71 that we make for just that reason, but with that size motor, I recommend a 14-71

Paul Vinyard likes this.
  5. swsc4133

swsc4133 Member

Hi Paul, where are you located? Looking at your pic you are in Albuquerque?

Paul Vinyard likes this.
  6. swsc4133

swsc4133 Member

Andy, i sent you a message here on ITA.