barrel valve leakdown

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by Andy Bowman Jr., Oct 21, 2006.

1. Andy Bowman Jr.

Andy Bowman Jr. New Member

Hi guys thanks for the GREAT site it really helps.I am VERY new to blown alcohol and need some help.I run a SBC and from everything I have read here my barrel valve is to rich (merky oil,breaking up,fuel in puke tank).I have checked everything else and in the process of checking barrel valve.I am using snap-on duel guage leakdown tester,have done everthing according to enderle instructions guage reads 48%(should be 65% been told)when adjust hex rod to lean as instructed (clockwise) it lowers %.am I reading guage backwards ,I believe this guage reads actual % leaking.Any help would be great. thanks

2. Mike Canter

Mike Canter Top Dragster
    Staff Member

Lets hope I remember this correctly. You want it to read the percent down from being wide open. If it is a leakdown tester and you are putting in 100 psi on the left gauge then 0% would be nothing going through so in fact 85 on a leakdown gauge is 85% leakdown.

You have to block off the idle return line and you need to take off the fuel outlet hose to read correctly.

The first thing you want to check is the V groove on the barrel in the barrel valve is positioned at the inlet side or is it on the outlet side of the valve. You can actually look into the inlet with a flashlight and see it. It needs to be on the outlet side. If you have the leakdown tester hooked up and you slowly open the throttle then the leakdown should go up to 100% at WOT. If it goes down whe you first open the throttle then it is in backwards.

Yes I would say that 48% is a little rich. We run our motor at 83%. At lot depends on the idle return poppet setting. You need to check that with the leakdown tester also and see if that is where you think it should be. We run ours at 9 lbs.

3. OzAlky

OzAlky Member

What type of blower are you using ?