3 speed or 2 speed - blown pro mod

Discussion in 'PSI Superchargers Tech Questions' started by kbhemi, Oct 28, 2016.

1. kbhemi

kbhemi Member

I have been running a clutch and a 3 speed lenco for 15 years - looking to change to a lencodrive - roots blown hemi w veney heads - 9000 shift - have gone 4.09 179 in 1/8th car weight now at 2460 - - can I use the 2 speed version and save some weight or do I need to go with a 3 speed version. What can I expect with either - AND is the 2 speed going to be slower and how much?

2. overkill69

overkill69 Member

Finally joining the dark side....keep in mind you can setup as a 3 speed and run a eliminator shaft in one section. By the time you figure the driveshaft and tunnel length the weight is a wash. Plus you can try 2 or 3 speeds.
    Also the lencodrive is the most maintainence of all the converter drives.
    I carry at least 50lbs extra for a Bruno but it's worth it.

3. hydrotherapy

hydrotherapy Member

Run a Lencodrive take it apart once a year and reset all clutch clearence ,change the fluid every 4 races ,and no problems,
    Like the trans brake better in a lencodrive better than the bruno.

4. hines

hines Member

What is the best convertor drive? Sounds like overkill thinks bruno is better than lenco drive.

5. TOL

TOL Active Member

I'll add to this. Can anyone give a compare between a Lencodrive, a Bruno, and a Quickdrive? Pros, cons, etc.....

6. kbhemi

kbhemi Member

Still looking for a 2 vs 3 speed w roots - but am definately interested in the replys so far

Craig Brewster likes this.
  7. hines

hines Member

I have talked to two of the tuner in pdra pro boost and both say stay with the 3 speed. I have a bruno now and trying to decide if i should keep it or change to one of the others. Bruno now offers adjustable pressure going down track and a lockup convertor upgrade

8. nitrowannabe

nitrowannabe Member